Thoughts On 2017: From One Overthinker To Another

One of my biggest faults is my ability to overthink any situation. I’m over analytical and hypercritical but the one thing that I’ve realised about this is that it only ever applies to me. What could I have done wrong? What more could I have done? I never question the actions of others. I guess, though, that we’re all guilty of being super critical of ourselves. We are without doubt our own worst enemy but is there anything good that can come from being a catastrophic thinker?

2016 has flown by. I remember sitting here last Christmas, with a coffee in hand, pondering on the exact same thought but every year it seems more so. I feel like I’ll be 30 with a collection of owl figurines before I know it. Which I wouldn’t mind, just FYI. The end of December always seems to bring on a wave of “oh crap” and I suddenly wish I’d have done more with the year that so quickly slipped through my fingers. I don’t have anything that I necessarily wish I’d have accomplished, I just have an overwhelming sense of disappointment.

With that in mind, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to set myself some goals to ensure that this time next year isn’t full of regret. If I don’t achieve them; at least I know I tried and hopefully, in the process, learnt something on the way.

I’m without doubt a linguistic learner. Always have been. Writing is a form of therapy for me. Whether it be writing up a new post for you guys on here, making an entry into my diary or just jotting down some notes; I feel like writing (or equally- reading) is the only way to stop any information going in one ear and out the other. This is no more less so when it comes to goals. Unless I write them down, I know nothing is going to get done. I need some sort of reference, y’know? If you’re also thinking of setting yourself some goals this new year then please ask yourself these questions when considering which to strive for (and try not to over complicate them):

  • Specific – What exactly is it that I want to achieve?
  • Measurable – Can I measure whether it’s been a success or not?
  • Achivable – What factors do the success of the project (goal) rely on?
  • Realistic – Can it be done?
  • Time – How long do I have to achieve this?
Using the trusty SMART scheme you should be able to ensure that your goals are not only achievable but also tailored to your schedule. Remember that not all of the things you want to achieve can be done in one year and they require lots of small steps eg. saving for a house so you could break this down into smaller chunks each year like: save x amount each month for that year etc. As I always say, perspective is important!

“Although no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” – Carl Bard

In the grand scheme of things, I guess one year really isn’t that long but it’s certainly long enough for you to achieve some of the things you want to. Keep in mind that even if you achieve only one goal or only tick one thing off your bucket list every year for the rest of your life; that’s a lot of accomplishments! Celebrate every victory and please don’t let any level of overthinking ruin your attitude.

I hope you’re all having a lovely Christmas Eve; no matter where you are or who you’re spending it with. Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On 2017: From One Overthinker To Another

Leave a comment